Vietnam pilots the issuance of electronic visas from February 01, 2017

2/5/2017 11:00:24 PM

The Vietnamese government has announced a two-year pilot plan to launch an electronic visa system for foreign tourists from 40 countries from February 01, 2017. 

At these pilot period, there are 40 countries are eligible for the E-visa: Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Belarus, Brunei, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Spain, Finland, France, UK, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Luxembourg, Myanmar, Mongolia, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Timor Leste, Uruguay, USA and Venezuela.

Vietnam E-visa is valid for maximum for 30 days and single entry. The procedures for applying and payment will be done online via the government website: . It will take 03 working days to process then the applicants will receive application codes and print off their e-visas to present when they arrive. With the e-visas, foreign tourists can enter Vietnam at international airports, land ports and sea ports in Vietnam. So right now, travelers from the countries above can do their own visa to Vietnam.

For other nationalities or multiple entries, Visa on Arrival is still applied as normal until further notice. But the good news is that the queues to get Stamp for Visa at the Airports are much less now.

The Vietnam Visa Exemptions for 22 countries are un-change. Aurora Travel & DMC hopes that the government will extend Visa Exemptions for 5 Western Europe countries (France, Italy, German, Spain, UK) after 01 Jul 2017.


Sign up to receive email updates and to hear what's going on within Destination Asia